November 29, 2023

Nigeria Transport Hub

…the epicentre for all transport modes

Travellers from Nigeria listed for quarantine in the UK

4 min read

London Heathrow Airport

The British government has included Nigeria among the one hundred and eighty-three (183) countries in its amber list.
This means travelers from those countries to UK must be quarantined for at least five days before integrating into the community.

Transportation Secretary, Grant Shapps, also advised that no person resident in England should travel to those countries under the AMBER watch list in which Nigeria is included.

Shapps gave the rationale for the UK government fears that, those nations, as for those destinations are deemed to be highly suspicious for the spread of the deadly Corona virus.

Shapps said the measure was part of the steps towards opening up travel in the United Kingdom.
He added that the strategy was to ensure the COVID-19 pandemic does not begin to spread again.

Other European destinations in the amber list apart from Nigeria include Spain, Italy and France.
Shapps said the government opted for the new travel restrictions even against European countries because the “success of combating covid-19 virus epidemic in the UK is not the same in many countries abroad”.

Hence he added that British citizens and alien residents must make sure that they reconnect only with destinations government is deemed to be safe.

The twelve destinations UK government has given clean bill of health for travel and of which returnees would not be compelled to quarantine are,


Portugal, Israel, Singapore, Australia, New Zealand, Brunei, Iceland, Gibraltar, Falkland Islands, Faroe Islands, South Georgia, and the South Sandwich Islands. St Helena, Tristan de Cunha, Ascension Island.


  • You must complete the passenger locator form
  • You must take Covid- 19 test.
  • You must book and pay for day 2 and day 8 coronavirus travel test.
  • When you arrived UK, you must quarantine for 10 days.
  • You must do the test as scheduled for the 2nd and 8th day after arrival in England.

For those who do travel, or travel through, an amber list country, they must quarantine at home for ten days on return to the UK. They must also take a COVID-19 test on or before day 2 and on or after day 8.

Albania, Algeria, Andorr, Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Armenia, Aruba, Austria, Azerbaijan, The Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bermuda, Bhutan, Bonaire, Saint Eustatius and Saba, Bosnia and Herzegovina, British Antarctic Territory, British Indian Ocean Territory, British Virgin Islands, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Cayman Islands, Central African Republic, Chad, China, Comoros, Congo, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Croatia, Fiji, Finland, France, French Polynesia, Gabon, The Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece (including islands), Greenland, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kiribati, Kosovo, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macao, Madagascar, Malaysia, Mali, Malta, Marshall Islands, Martinique, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mayotte, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia.

Others are, Montenegro, Montserrat, Morocco, Myanmar (Burma), Nauru, Netherlands, New Caledonia, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, North Korea, North Macedonia, Norway, The Occupied Palestinian Territories, Palau, Papua New Guinea,
Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands, Poland, Réunion, Romania, Russia, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Sierra Leone, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, South Korea, South Sudan, Spain (including the Balearics and Canary Islands), Sri Lanka, St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Martin and St Barthélemy, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Sudan, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Turks and Caicos Islands, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United States (USA), Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vietnam, Wallis and Futuna, Western Sahara, Yemen.

The red list countries of which entry to the UK is barred

Angola, Argentina, Bangladesh, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Burundi, Cape Verde, Chile, Colombia, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Ecuador, Eswatini, Ethiopia, French Guiana, Guyana, India, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Maldives (currently on the amber list. Will move to the red list 4am, May 12), Mozambique, Namibia, Nepal (currently on the amber list. Will move to the red list 4am, May 12), Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Qatar, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, South Africa, Suriname, Tanzania, Turkey (currently on the amber list. Will move to the red list 4am, May 12), United Arab Emirates (UAE), Uruguay, Venezuela, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

More countries are set to be placed on the Government’s ‘red list’, meaning passengers from there are barred from entering the UK, unless they are British or Irish nationals.

The Maldives, Nepal and Turkey will be the latest countries and territories added to the red list at 4am on Wednesday (12th May) meaning visitors from these countries won’t be allowed through Heathrow or Gatwick to protect the UK from potential new variants of coronavirus.

The red list is set to have 43 countries on it, covering a larger part of Africa and South America destinations. Britons and others legally resident are not expected to travel to red list countries or territories for leisure purposes with passengers only permitted to travel for legally permitted reasons.

If you have been through any red list country in the previous 10 days you will be refused entry to the UK. A British or Irish national, who have residence rights to the UK, will have to quarantine in a Government-approved hotel for 10 days. The average cost for ten days of quarantine is 1750.

There is no ban on direct flights between these countries and Gatwick or Heathrow, but passengers are urged to check the rules before travelling.
Exempt jobs:
There are certain jobs for which these restrictions don’t apply, such as airline pilots and crew, BBC broadcasters, aerospace engineers, bus and coach drivers. A full list of these jobs can be seen on the Government website.
Although the above information is correct at the time of publication, they are subject to change.

Total Page Visits: 845 - Today Page Visits: 1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.