June 6, 2023

Nigeria Transport Hub

…the epicentre for all transport modes


2 min read

Super Eagles of Nigeria will not be at the finals of the 2022 FIFA WORLD CUP in Qatar, later in the year.

The loss came on away goals rules with the Super Eagles’ age-long rival, the Black Stars of Ghana, after a goal on each side from the match at the MKO Abiola Stadium, Abuja.

The Super Eagles’ desire to fly Nigeria flag in Qatar at their seventh World Cup appearance was dashed.

The gruesome match last night ended in a one-one draw at the MKO Abiola National Stadium after the first leg of the play-offs last Friday at the Baba Yara Stadium in Kumasi ended goalless.

Ghana’s Black Stars based on the away goal rules thus secured the World Cup ticket for the fourth time.
Ghana played at the World Cup in 2006, 2010 and 2014.

In a repeat of AFCON Finals, the reigning African Champion, Teranga Lions of Senegal defeated Pharaohs of Egypt on penalties.

Their two-legged outings produced one-one draw on aggregate.

Senegal thus advanced to her third World Cup. The first time was in 2002, the second was in 2018 and the third it has just been secured in Qatar 2022.

Atlas Lions of Morocco thrashed Leopards of Democratic Republic, DR, of Congo by four goals to one thus qualified for the 2022 FIFA WORLD CUP by Five goals to one on aggregate.

Atlas Lions of Morocco will be in their sixth World Cup later in the year. The team featured in the world cup tournament in 1970, 1998, 1994, 1998, 2018 and has secured a ticket for the 2022 edition.

Also through to the World Cup is Carthage Eagles of Tunisia. Tunisia earned the ticket on aggregate, through its one goal to nothing, after the first leg against the Eagles of Mali ended goalless.

Carthage Eagles of Tunisia will be playing its sixth World Cup after they did in 1978, 1998, 2002, 2006 and 2018.

The Indomitable Lions of Cameroon also qualified on away goal rules. The Indomitable Lion’s match against the Desert Foxes of Algeria ended on two – two draw hence, the aggregate on away goal rules prevailed.

Cameroon will be featuring in its ninth World Cup in Qatar 2022. The team qualified in 1982, 1990, 1994, 1998, 2002, 2010 and 2014.


Total Page Visits: 268 - Today Page Visits: 1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.