May 31, 2023

Nigeria Transport Hub

…the epicentre for all transport modes

Lagos State Govt. Appoints 25 Members Garages Committee

2 min read

Mr Hakeem Odumosu (AIG Rtd) – Lagos State Government Liaison Officer, Parks & Garages Committee

The Lagos State Government has set up a 25-man committee to oversee the affairs of all motor parks and garages in the State.

A media statement from the state government and signed by the Commissioner for Information & Strategy, Gbenga Omotosho, said the constitution of the committee was in consonance with the government’s resolve to avert the threat to peace, safety and security of lives and properties that the impasse between the Lagos state chapter of the National Union of Road Transport Workers, NURTW, and the national body in Abuja was brewing.

Hence the state government chose to exercise its “constitutional powers to ensure that no vacuum, which can disrupt the peace of our dear State, is allowed to exist in the parks. This is a duty we owe all Lagosians and visitors”, the statement said.

The statement further noted that very deep and wide consultations were undertaken by the government with the view to assemble credible citizens with the capacity and capability to ensure that order and tranquillity that existed in Lagos state were not in any way, and for no reason be thwarted

Alh Musiliu Ayinde Akinsanya, a.ka. MC Oluomo- Parks & Garages Committee Chairman

Hence the statement announced that “Members of the committee, who have been selected following consultations with stakeholders in the sector, are:

  1. Mr. Hakeem Odumosu (AIG Rtd) – Government Liaison Officer
  2. Alh Musiliu Ayinde Akinsanya – Chairman
  3. Alh Sulyman B. Ojora – (Deputy Chairman)
  4. Dr. Taiwo Olufemi Salaam (Secretary)
  5. Comrade Olayiwola Lemboye
  6. Alhaji Mustapha Adekunle
  7. Alhaji Ganiyu Shittu
  8. Alhaji Mukaila Runsewe
  9. Alhaji Sulyman Yusuf
  10. Alhaji Mufutau Mutiu
  11. Alhaji Yinka Hassan
  12. Alhaji Sunday Ogunleye
  13. Alhaji Moshood Omojowa
  14. Alhaji Ismaila Aigoro
  15. Alhaji Ibrahim Yusuf. O
  16. Alhaji Akeem Tijani
  17. Mrs. Omolabake Adelakun
  18. Comrade Kazeem Hassan
  19. Alhaji Wasiu Amole
  20. Alhaji Ganiyu Ayinde
  21. Anthony Adeyinka Adeboye
  22. John Victor Owolabi
  23. Saburi Salami
  24. Ibrahim Onitiju
  25. Odusanya Gbenga

Members of the committee are to report to the Ministry of Transportation, Alausa Secretariat, Ikeja.

The Government on 10th March 2022, suspended NURTW operations in all parks and garages, following the tension sparked by some events in the union.

Total Page Visits: 712 - Today Page Visits: 1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.