March 25, 2023

Nigeria Transport Hub

…the epicentre for all transport modes

The ban on Okada operations in 10 LGAs, 15 LCDAs is still in force- Frederic Oladeinde

2 min read

Endangering lives. Threatening families’ hope for the future

The Lagos State Government has reaffirmed that the ban on motorcycle operations in ten (10) Local Governments (LGs) and 15 Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs) of the state remains in force.

A statement signed by the Commissioner for Transportation, Dr. Frederic Oladeinde said that there has been peace and improvement in security in areas where the activities of Okada operators have been halted, restating that the Security Agencies are on the alert to continue to enforce the ban without any compromise.

Oladeinde explained that the State Government took notice of the gradual return of some law defying Okada operators in some restricted areas which would not be condoned by the present administration hence, the need for continuous reminders that the State will not reverse its decision on the ban.

He commended the law abiding operators and the general public who complied with the law on the ban of Okada in the affected parts of the State. The Commissioner reminded the general public that both the rider and passenger are liable to three-years imprisonment if apprehended and prosecuted.

Confiscated motorcycles to be crushed

The Commissioner added that motorcycles impounded would also be crushed in line with the provision of Section 46, sub-section 1,2, and 3 of the Lagos State Transport Reform Law of 2018.

He disclosed that statistics had shown that accident rates in the areas where the activities of Okada riders had stopped, decreased by 76 percent.

Oladeinde reiterated the following ten local governments in which Okada operators had been banned as Kosofe, Oshodi-Isolo, Somolu, Mushin, Apapa, Ikeja, Lagos Island, Lagos Mainland, Surulere and Eti-Osa

The media statement reiterated that, “the Local Council Development Areas (LCDAS) under the affected LGAs are Apapa Iganmu, Ojodu, Onigbongbo, Lagos Island West, Lagos Island East, Yaba, and Coker Aguda. Others are Itire-Ikate, Eti-Osa East, Eti-Osa West, Iru Victoria Island, Ikoyi-Obalende, Ikosi-Isheri, Agboyi-Ketu, Isolo, Ejigbo, Bariga and Odi-Olowo”, he added.

The Commissioner revealed that more sustainable alternative means of transportation are being provided for the motoring public by the Sanwo-Olu administration with the ramping up of the mass transit Blue and Red Rail Lines, whose passengers operations will commence test run by the end of this year 2022.

Oladeinde, therefore, urged both rider and passenger to move away from the fixed mindset of seeing the operation of Okada as the only means of commuting, adding that the ban will eventually be extended to all the remaining LGAs and LCDAs in the State.

Total Page Visits: 248 - Today Page Visits: 1

More Stories

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.